Life of a "Dentist"…

My fate was decided, I was given the clue by almighty,
When I cracked my PMTs…
Didn’t got into MBBS, had to choose dentistry.

My parents felt proud that day, neither did I bothered…
As I had five years to pray…
First year passed in giving and taking ragging,
Running through corridors and shabbing.

Second year…it was prefixed with “Dr. saab”,
Felt no more than a “Nawab”
Pre clinical year…I was on the top of the world and out of sight…
As I worked upon the real patients…day and night.

Entered the final year…it was horrifying and freaky,
Had to cover all the departments, all the subjects that were all tricky.
Somehow managed to clear all and finally…
“Party time was the day”, with beer and a bowl.

Then started our internship….
Huh…what internship?
It was full of TTs and here and there trips…
Whole year went in waiting for stipend,
As it came slowly and steadily, every month’s 22nd.

Two months left when I realized…
I had entered the hell.
All my hard work, it all went in vain,
Only left with me was hardships and pain.

One year after the college, went by in deciding what to do?
Continue with my field or let it go.
Next year went in preparing for PG,
But it’s not everyone’s cup of tea, its not that easy.

I had to pay, fighting for seats in general,
Half went to GDOs, rest went for funeral.
This is how life of a dentist goes,
Like a whirlpool, it continues.
But don’t ever blame the GOD, neither you.
As your fate was decided, when you were given the clue.

One comment

  1. Dr.Khshitij · · Reply

    dont know whether to cry or to laugh…but rightly said…infact well said…i liked “confused dreams”…hahahha….dis is exactly how our life goes….
    but dentists are the best brains in india…

Leave a comment